What is #projecttinyhouse?

This past weekend, a dream I’ve had for many years finally came true-Project Tiny House has begun.

IMG_0708
My 1973 Airstream Land Yacht.

What exactly is Project Tiny House? 

Since I can remember, I’ve always been obsessed with rearranging and redecorating my room. Every other year or so since I was a kid, I would beg my parents to help me rearrange my bedroom furniture, or paint my room a different color. My parents always let my room be my space, and they would always reluctantly help me execute my “vision”.

Fast forward to junior year of high school, when my parents let me reconfigure my room and create this crazy loft space, complete with a walk-in closet and vanity underneath. I came back to a newly redesigned space after visiting colleges on the East Coast, and my bedroom became my pride and joy.

A couple years later, the summer after my freshman year of college, I realized this loft set-up in my room was not going to work longterm. I moved some things around, but began thinking of ways I could have my own space, outside of my house. A guest house? Too much work, too many permits. An apartment? Not for this (at the time) 19-year-old.

I started looking into alternative architecture: structures built from shipping containers and other creative solutions that were driving the newly-forming “Tiny House Movement” (before HGTV caught on and produced multiple shows about it.)

700_poteet-container-house-9.jpg
Source: Remodelista

With some of these structures being too difficult to built and too permanent for my purposes (as much as I joke, I hope to eventually move out), someone suggested the idea of a mostly-stationary Airstream Trailer as the solution to my Tiny House troubles. And here we are, many hours of research and eBay bids later….

It’s official: my Airstream Renovation journey has begun. A 1973 Land Yacht will make the trek to my home in Los Angeles, and my new weekend (and probably weekday) project will commence. I am so thrilled to be starting on this, along with my supportive family and design-genius Aunt, and can’t wait to show you what happens along the way!

IMG_0701
My soon-to-be-redesigned Airstream.

If you want to keep up with me and my Airstream (now taking name suggestions…!) feel free to follow my Instagram @weekendprofessional. Also, if you think Airstreamsdope, check out Airstream Dreams (where I’m getting tons of good ideas) and the accounts they feature (The Modern Caravan and Mavis the Airstream are just a couple that I love.)

 

If you know of any websites or other Airstream-related resources, let me know so I can check out!

 

 

Leave a Reply

